To Have Faith Greater Than Fear.

I’ve been having these crazy recurring dreams lately. And they are always centered around the same roller coaster. You know, like those insane ones at Six Flags that make your stomach do flips just by looking at them? Except in my dreams, I’m not excited to go on it like I normally would be, I’m absolutely terrified. I will do anything and everything to make sure I don’t go on this ride, and it just looms up above me with an aura of impending doom. And then never fail, I always wake up right before I am forced onto the ride. I never even get to see the end.

I’ve realized that I have these dreams when I am letting fear get the best of me in the reality of my every day life. Somehow my subconscious manifests this daunting roller coaster to parallel the fear that I feel about whatever is happening at the time. This time, I don’t think that it is anything quite specific, but actually rather broad that I have been constantly contemplating. Just about a week ago, a dear family friend passed away at far too young of an age. She was taken much before her time and it was very unnerving. Since then, it has constantly been in the back of my mind that anything could happen at any second and I may no longer have some of my closest friends or even loved ones at my side anymore. Everything can change in the blink of an eye. To me, that is absolutely a terrifying thing to think about.

But then today, the words of one of my previous coaches came to my mind. He taught me one of the most valuable lessons I will probably ever learn. He taught me that in life, and in the game, you should always let your faith be bigger than your fear. It’s quite a simple concept, but imagine if we could remember that at all points of our day? What about all points our life?

You cannot let fear consume you. Whether it be the fear of failure, rejection, or something circumstantially going wrong. Because if you never open your heart to others, never put yourself in that new uncomfortable situation, or never push your limits in hopes of obtaining your dreams, then what chance are you giving yourself? Absolutely none. If you let your fear become greater than your faith, failure is not just an option, it’s inevitable.

Faith, confidence, trust, they all mean the same thing. You are letting yourself believe that there is something more than what is right in front of you. Even the smallest amount of faith can overcome your obstacles. For”truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” ~ Matthew 17:20

Talk to me.

