Doorways Like Vacuums.

Growing up, when faced with a relationship problem of any kind, whether it be with friends, adults, or even my teenage crushes, my stepmom would always listen to my woes and then simply tell me one thing: “People are either in your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.”

Simple as that. Right?

Well, more often than not I have had trouble with accepting this statement. Whether it be human nature, or possibly a girl thing, I over-analyze every last interaction, event, and word said between myself and fill-in-the-blank. It’s easy to do right? Everybody wants to know why things happen, or why they don’t. But why is a question that with maturity, eventually we understand cannot always be answered.

Although I would love to say I have matured to the point that I can accept that everything happens for a reason, and that I cannot choose the length of time that any given person will stay in my life, I will admit I haven’t. But I am well on my way there. I have recently come out of a long term relationship where we believed young love could solve anything. Apparently it can’t, and that is something I have come to accept. There are other factors in life that are situational, and most of the time out of our hands. What I have learned from this experience is sometimes all you can do is appreciate that you got to spend the time you did with somebody that you love, and remember how blessed you were that they came into your life. Time moves on, people change, and sometimes they grow apart rather than together. Sometimes people are ready for things while others aren’t, and sometimes people need to do some soul searching on their own.

I was watching a movie the other day that spoke straight to my heart. Funny how you can watch something a million times and it won’t mean anything to you until you’ve been in that place and need to hear those words.

The quote goes like this:

“So miss him. Send him some love and light every time you think about him, then drop it. You’re just afraid to let go of the last bits of him because then you’ll be really alone, and your scared to death of what will happen if your really alone. But here’s what you gotta understand…If you clear out all that space in your mind that you’re using right now to obsess about this guy, you’ll have a vacuum there, an open spot – a doorway. And guess what the universe will do with the doorway? It will rush in – God will rush in – and fill you with more love than you ever dreamed. So stop using him to block that door. Let it go.” — Eat, Pray, Love♥

Time will heal, 
 
what you think might break you will only make you stronger, 
 
and God will always rush in. 
Talk to me.

