Allice In Planning Land.

I think there is something to be said about planning.

It is seriously one of my favorite things to do. For some reason, I just always get this sense of accomplishment that washes over me once something that I planned is pulled off successfully, no matter what it is.

I think this has a lot to do with my personality. I love to control things. No, I am not some crazy control freak, but I do have my shortcomings (don’t we all?). If something goes awry, off the blueprint for the plan in my head, or changes unexpectedly, I am one to not handle it very well. Don’t get me wrong, I am actually very adaptable and can usually fix the situation, but that does not mean that I do not first have a mini-meltdown inside while I question why everything always has to go wrong.

Why does everything always seem to go wrong to some people? Well I’m beginning to understand a little something that if grasped correctly might relieve loads of stress later on down the road. It’s because those people are planners like me. If you are always planning something, where is there room for any variations? Any little thing that doesn’t go your way will be deemed off the planned route and therefore not worth the trouble. But aren’t the best things in life sometimes the ones that come to you flying from left field? Like  those moments you experience, people you meet, or situations you land in that completely throw you off guard but were better than you ever could have expected?

Because planning every single aspect of your life is almost a way of underestimating yourself and your surroundings by putting them in a little square box of only what you can imagine. Far more exciting, beautiful, unexpected things are meant to come into your life, and pushing them away because they do not follow your specific plan in life is a shame. And that’s what I have noticed; those that take life as it comes and do not expect so many things out of it are the truly happy ones. Because without all the unnecessary expectations they leave themselves open to being surprised and genuinely happy with whatever falls before them.

So embrace the unexpected. Let some things fall apart so better things can fall together. One very straightforward, perfectly placed, nicely groomed door might close on you..but who says that the rabbit hole that leads to a long hallway which is connected to a steep stairwell before the hop skip and a jump you will take is any less right for you? It probably is even more so.

As I’m sure you have heard before, if your plan ‘A’ doesn’t work, keep your chin up! There are 25 more letters in the alphabet. 🙂

 

Talk to me.

